Iconic mountain bike race returns to the Atherton Tablelands

The world’s oldest mountain bike stage race returns to the Atherton Tablelands this month with French national marathon champion Miguel Martinez as well as four-time Tour de France racer Erik Dekker from The Netherlands set to lead the field.

Running across eight days, from September 16 to September 23, this iconic race begins in Cairns and takes its international field of riders through the Atherton Tablelands region to Port Douglas, where the event will finish on Four Mile Beach.

Elite women to watch include adventure racer Joanne Koy, who is stepping up from amateur with respectable results on the national marathon racing scene this year, along with Haley Smith from Canada and marathon racer Daniela Erni Ruoss from Switzerland.

In the men’s group, Australian riders include many multiple Crocodile Trophy finishers and category winners such as Garry James from Canberra and the local racing team around five-time finisher Brendon Skerke.

The Austro-Australian Martin Wisata from the NSW Central Coast will be returning for his eighth turn at the Croc, increasing his lead as the world-wide record holder of most events finished.


The eight-day stage plan for 2017 Crocodile Trophy will be: 

Stage 1 – Smithfield – 33km

Stage 2 – Cairns – Lake Tinaroo – 78km (incl. 12km neutral to official start)

Stage 3 – Lake Tinaroo – Tepon Equestrian Park, Kalunga/Herberton – 105km

Stage 4 – Kalunga – Skybury Coffee – 121km

Stage 5 – Skybury Coffee Marathon – 125km

Stage 6 – Skybury Coffee – Wetherby Station – 103km

Stage 7 – Wetherby Station Marathon – 78km

Stage 8 – Wetherby Station – Four Mile Beach – 30km.


For more information visit the Crocodile Trophy website.